As we are a small school, parents and guardians of SMS students are encouraged to participate in the community as much as possible. Two areas in particular in which family members may hold leadership roles include the PTA and the SLT. 
Parent Teacher Association (PTA)
The mission of the Special Music School PTA is to create a warm and welcoming community for all students and families while providing essential support for the school and its faculty. We accomplish these goals through a roster of engaging events, monthly meetings and fundraising initiatives. All parents and guardians of SMS students and all SMS teachers are automatically members of the PTA.
PTA by-laws (updated in May, 2022) can be found HERE.
The PTA publishes its 990 tax form in accordance with IRS regulations. Click HERE to view our most recent filing.


School Leadership Team (SLT)

Every New York City public school is required to establish a School Leadership Team (SLT). The team is comprised of an equal number of parents and faculty. The primary responsibility of the SLT is to develop an annual Comprehensive Educational Plan (CEP). This is a school improvement plan which targets the policies, procedures, and educational practices that create our children’s learning environment.